NC to NC – The Packing Phase

This is going to be a fairly short post, but I wanted to update everyone on my migration back to the East Coast. If you missed my announcement, feel free to pop over and read it here. So the first stage of this move was to pack my earthly possessions into a storage unit to be shipped to Raleigh and stored until I arrive. I decided to go with Door-to-Door again since they worked out so nicely when I first moved to Cali in 2012. Back then, it was a struggle to fit the furnishings of my three-bedroom, three-story townhouse into three storage units. In the last 2.5 years, I have downsized considerably. I’ve gotten rid of a lot of the free or cheap furniture I had to fill my Ashburn house and I’ve cut back on “stuff”. So this time when scheduling my move, I decided I could fit everything I really wanted into one storage container.

IMG_4595.JPG

On October 30th, I recruited three of my closest friends to help me and I outlined my plan of attack. I asked Brian if he could help me load the bed, dresser, and bookcase in first. These were the largest pieces and the only ones I couldn’t move myself. Then, with the help of Xavier, we pulled out all of my boxes from the house and garage. I wanted to see everything laid out in one place so I could start to “Tetris” everything into the unit. My biggest regret of moving day was not taking a picture of this phase. Suffice it to say that there was a lot of stuff and I didn’t blame Erica for her surprised reaction upon arriving to help. But I was focused on staying positive and just getting what we could in the container.

We started with the bigger, heavier, sturdier boxes and worked our way down. The space was quickly filling up… Yikes! After we had put as many full boxes as we could, we paused to discuss our options. You can see a picture of this point below (sorry for the words across it!). X and Erica were certain we had done what we could do, but I was confident that we could squeeze some additional items in if we deconstructed a few boxes. Luckily, the boxes left were scrapbooking and office supplies, as well as clothes. So lots of smaller, stuffable items. Unfortunately, I remembered that I hadn’t brought out my skis and snowboard yet. Whoops!

IMG_4602.PNG

After shuffling a few things to get the snow equipment in, we started stuffing things in the cracks and crevices. I was able to fit the contents of three more boxes into the unit in this manner. It will be interesting to see what has shifted in three months. I plan to have a box handy when unloading to put the loose items in, but we shall see. I didn’t shove anything breakable in during this last ditch effort to stuff the container, so that’s good. If anything these last pieces will help protect everything else from moving. When it was all said and done, I closed and locked the door. The picture below is moments before that, and you can see how much more we filled it compared to the photo above.

IMG_4598.JPG

I will be the first to admit that I probably needed 1.5 containers, but we made it work. I can fill my car to the roof for my drive East, which will help. I had already planned to ship my bicycle, since I have a race this weekend, and I might have to ship one or two other things. But the cost of those shippings will be significantly less than the cost of another storage unit, so I’m happy 🙂 That’s all for now, but expect a post on my west coast road trip soon!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: NC to NC Phase Two – Cali to Utah | Rays of Funshine
  2. Trackback: NC to NC Phase 3 – UT to CO | Rays of Funshine
  3. Trackback: NC to NC Phase Four – CO Thanksgiving! | Rays of Funshine
  4. Trackback: NC to NC Phase 5 – CO to VA | Rays of Funshine
  5. Trackback: Closet Organization Project | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

