Esprit de She Triathlon 2014

Yesterday I raced a sprint triathlon around Fiesta Island in Mission Bay. It’s my third time racing there, two years ago when it was called SheRox and last year in the inaugural Esprit de She. This is one of my favorite races because it’s all women and its main benefactor is Girls on the Run. It’s a sunny, flat course with a half mile swim in the bay, a double loop on the bike for 12.4 miles, and a double loop run for a 5K. I don’t typically prefer loop courses, but because this race is so short, it’s kind of nice to get to see all the other competitors. I’m not going to lie, I don’t feel like writing a lot about this race. But I will say that I was happy with my swim section, I wish I’d gone faster on the bike, and I was pleasantly surprised by my run time. I finished in 1:29:16 without really properly training and my swim was 16:47, the bike was 43:58, and my run was 25:04. My transitions were a bit slower than the past races because I had to switch shoes between biking and running for the first time and because I apparently sliced open my big toe after the swim, but again I was overall very happy with my time! Here are some pictures, thanks to Brian who came out to watch me 🙂

Oct 19 002

Oct 19 003

Oct 19 007

Oct 19 025

Oct 19 035

Oct 19 037

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: San Diego Duathlon 2014 | Rays of Funshine
  2. Trackback: Hiking, Biking, Boarding, and… Brewing? | Rays of Funshine
  3. Trackback: How I Fell in Love with Girls on the Run: Ambassador Karen Oliver

Leave a Reply

