It’s Time Again for a Change

Two and a half years ago I wrote a post titled, “She said, ‘Well, I’m goin’ to California'”, and it explained to all of you where, why and when I was planning to uproot my stable Virginia life for the unknown world of the west coast. You should pause for a moment to read it and try to understand a little bit more about how I ended up in southern California. And then you should know that I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute of living in this gorgeous place. I needed to move here when I did, I needed a change, I needed to focus on different aspects of my life, and I needed to just relax.

That being said, I have done a lot of thinking and praying and soul-searching over the past few months and I have decided that it’s time to move again. This decision has not been easy and even still, there are tons of unknowns. But I will take a minute to tell you what I do know, because that’s all I can do 🙂

My lease is up on October 31st and at that point I will have put my earthly possessions into a Door-to-Door storage unit. One. Not the three units it took me to move here, lol. Then I’ll move into the spare bedroom of my closest Cali friend, X. Mom is coming out to do a mini west coast road trip from SF back down here in early November. Then I’ll be hanging out the rest of the month, seeing people and doing fun things. Thanksgiving week I will hop in Funshine and drive to my brother’s place in Boulder, CO, leaving California behind 😦 On Sunday after the holiday, my mom and I will hit the road to drive the rest of the way back to Virginia. I’ll be in NoVa for the first week of December helping my mom unpack, organize and settle in the new house she just moved into. I will also celebrate my 30th birthday! Then on December 8th I fly to Argentina for the trip I already have planned with my friend, Jenny. When I get back from South America, it will be Christmas so I’ll spend that with mom. That’s when plans start to get fuzzy…

I know in my heart that the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill triangle area in North Carolina is where I want to go next. Why? Because I pursued jobs there after college, because it’s closer to my family and friends but not too close, because it’s a slightly slower southern pace of living without being too backwards, because it has trees and lakes and mountains, because I can still drive to the beach, because I can be in an educational hub of colleges, and because it just feels right. I have started looking for jobs in the non-profit world, as well as in college admissions, study abroad offices, and athlete academic advising positions. I want to combine my love of education and youth/young adults with my organizational skills or traveling experiences… so if anyone has any information or suggestions or contacts in the research triangle area, I would love to know about them! My good friend, Paige, lives about an hour outside of the area so I may stay with her for a few days initially while I look for an apartment and decide what neighborhood I want to be in. This may also depend on where I’ve gotten or am looking for a job. That’s all I know about that end for now, other than the fact that once I pick a place, I’ll call and have my stuff delivered to settle in!

I’m not expecting for everyone who reads this post to understand my decision to, once again, move across the country without the promise of a stable job. Especially when I seem so happy here and I have such a good network of friends and activities to keep me busy. And I’ll admit that I’ve put off writing this post because it makes my heart hurt to think about leaving… But I read an article the other day that made some sense to me, so I thought I’d include it here. I know that I agree with the first two at least (other than the part where it says I’ll leave my old friends for new ones) and I’m interested to wait and see if in the future it still applies to my life. What do you all think? Can you relate?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TJ
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 10:59:31

    Can I relate? I was inspired by you after I heard about your FIRST move.

    The Triangle Area is actually on my short list for after my lease is up at the end of March. My other thought was Salt Lake City, as it is a lot closer to my family here. Of course the third thought is just staying put, continuing to save $$, take a long vacation every year, and hope that I might randomly meet some more genuine down-to-earth transplants in the only dating scene that I’ve ever known – superficial Orange County. It would be really cool to live somewhere where my opinion of “normal” is not some diamond in the rough.

    The triangle in particular has a ridiculous amount of kickball. Every friend who I have asked who made the cross country jump without a job in place has told me they only had a couple months saved up before making the move. I always felt like it should be more (a lot more), and I guess that’s why I keep moving around Southern California instead of doing what I really want to do, which is experience something completely different.

    I don’t know anyone in NC and I’ve never been there before, so if it’s still on the table, I will definitely be visiting first, in which case, you can tell me all about it, in person! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 12:08:55

    Karen – I admire your strength and perseverance to not settle and to find your happy place. I think this world would be a much happier place if people focused inward a little and sought happiness, rather than judging everyone around them. Kudos to you and have a blast on your next adventure!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jimmy Daniels
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 18:45:56

    Hi Karen,
    I’m from Raleigh myself, and I think you’ll love it. All of my family still lives in Raleigh and I have a lot of friends still there as well. If you need a place to stay while you find a place I’m sure I could help. I always thought that I would end eventually move back to Raleigh and hopefully I still will or at least somewhere close by like Asheville. Raleigh’s changed slightly since I left in 2006. Downtown has become a bit more exciting with renovations to the Fayetteville street mall and there’s been a boom in new restaurants and bars. Be sure to check out Kings on Martin Street. The NC state fair is also a must. You’ll miss it this year. It starts this coming week, but next year be sure to catch it at the NC state fair grounds. They have a flea market there every weekend as well. I could go on and on. If you want to hear more or have questions, let me know.
    Cheers,
    Jimmy

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: 30B430 – Balboa Park Edition | Rays of Funshine
  5. Trackback: NC to NC – The Packing Phase | Rays of Funshine
  6. Trackback: Welcome to 2015! | Rays of Funshine
  7. Trackback: Closet Organization Project | Rays of Funshine
  8. Trackback: Big Life Decision… | Rays of Funshine
  9. Trackback: Saying Good-bye to my Partner in Crime | Rays of Funshine
  10. Trackback: Tinkerbell Half Marathon 2015 | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

