I’m Organized… And I Disagree.

This is going to be a quick post, but I promise to catch up on posts soon! But while at the gym today, I read this article on organization and places that even organized people don’t bother to organize. It claimed that I would agree with the seven places on the list, but I don’t. So I’m writing about it 🙂 For those of you too lazy to click the link, here are the seven places Samantha Toscano claims that fellow organizers avoid and my commentary on them. I want to preface this post by saying that I’m not trying to sound better that disorganized people who can relate to this list… I’m just disproving Samantha’s theory that even organized people let these seven places go. Out of her list, I agree with two for sure (#1 and #2) and empathize with an additional one (#4). The other four I completely disagree with, but you read for yourselves and see what you think.

1. Your Underwear Drawer

Okay, I’ll give you that. I finally stopped folding my underwear about a year ago. It’s just not worth it. However, I do fold my underwear when packing for a trip. Just in case y’all needed to know.

2. Your Significant Other’s Side of the Closet

DNA. Does not apply. But if the common areas of my house are any indication, I have given up hope of keeping them organized too. So, fine. I’ll give you that one as well.

3. Your Desk.

Nope. Not me. When I taught (both publicly and privately) I made a point at the end of each school day to straighten my desk. I stacked piles of “to be graded” and “already graded” papers, I straightened lesson plan binders, I put paper clips and pens and white-out and sharpies back in my top drawer, and I moved the Kleenex box back to the top right corner where it belonged. Why? Because when you teach ninth and tenth grade students, your classroom is going to get a bit messy throughout the day. Your file cabinet of “extra” student supplies is going to be out-of-order. Your “white”board is going to be filled with notes and doodles and messages and dirt. But your desk? That’s sacred ground for a teacher. Your desk is your safe haven and the object behind which you can hide when all you want to do is take your heels off or when parents (and kids) twice your side want to have a confrontation. So out of respect for the small sanctuary of space known to the outside world as “your desk”, yes, I absolutely keep it organized. Always.

4. Your Kids’ Toy Bin

Again, this doesn’t really apply. But I will say that when I’m with my adorable nieces, I do want to organize their toy bins. I want to put everything in a place, even if it’s not exactly the right place. And I know they are just going to get them all back out. But whatever. Granted, this might be different if I was their parent and dealt with the toy situation daily. But I make my bed everyone morning, even though I know I’m just going to get back in it at night to sleep again. Something about making it just makes me feel ready for the day (thanks for that one, Mom and Dad). I also am a stickler for putting all of my craft supplies back at the end of each session. I can’t leave my scrapbooking tools and paper lying around, I just feel like the project is unfinished for the day if the materials aren’t put back where they belong.

5. Your Junk Drawer

I don’t have one of these. Seriously. The closest thing is the top of my craft chest. But even that is organized into neat piles of “to do” and “to file”. And I go through it at least once a week to make sure nothing is falling through the cracks. My side table is also organized and container several accordion file organizers for the things I feel would normally create a junk drawer. We do have one drawer in our kitchen that is a “catch-all” for small kitchen tools… but in the grand scheme of things, that’s one drawer filled with similar sized objects that all serve similar purposes. So does that even count?

6. Your Box of Old Photos

How are you supposed to scrapbook if your photos aren’t organized?! I have one large, green metal box (gifted to me by some of my crazy friends back in high school) that is filled with all of my old photos. Several years ago, I took my photo albums from life, emptied all the pictures, rubber-banded each group together with an index card for a label, and sent them off to be scanned. They are all now digital images saved and organized into folders on my hard drive. I do have the originals in that green box, grouped and labeled, just in case I ever get around to middle and elementary school scrapbooks. Or in the event I need an embarrassing photo of a friend from way back when. And I’ll be able to find it in a flash!

7. Your Catch-All Dishes

I hate to say it, because it’s solidifying how organized I really am… but I don’t have these either. I have two hanging jewelry organizers, one for necklaces and one for bracelets. It makes it easy to just grab what you need for the day and return it to the same spot at night. It also keeps dust off the jewelry and prevents tarnishing. As far as a dish for keys, etc. I just don’t have the space in my current room to leave a dish out to catch things.

So there you go, my thoughts on Samantha’s seven disorganized places. Where do you all find the most clutter in your house? Is there any place you designate as “disorganized” to help the rest of your place stay orderly?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Closet Organization Project | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

