Operation RAM: Judgement Day is Almost Here

This is going to be a quick post because I still haven’t packed and I leave tonight for San Francisco. I think I’ve been avoiding packing because it means this weekend is really here. I won’t lie, I’m nervous! But who wouldn’t be? I’ve been training for 24 weeks, which is almost six months. I’ve written two additional posts updating y’all, one five weeks ago and one after I ran a mountain.

So what’s left? Well, my training for the next three days is extremely light. I’m supposed to rest my legs today and tomorrow and then do an easy “shake-out” run on Saturday. The second half of my training plan is below… there are so many crossed out days! I’ll be the first to say that this hasn’t always been easy and sure, I skipped a workout here or there due to exhaustion, lack of motivation, or no time in my schedule. But for the most part, I’ve stayed right on track and I know I just have to trust my training on Sunday.

photo 2

As you can see, my goal is to finish in 4 hours and 30 minutes. That’s a pace of 10:20/mile. Yikes! The longest run I’ve done is 20 miles, and I’ve heard the last 6.2 are the hardest mentally. So bleh about that. You know I’m running with one of my best friends from high school, Katie. But I should clarify that we won’t actually be running together. She is way faster me and will be starting in Wave 2, with the hope to finish in around 3 hours and 30 minutes. She will start with her wave around 5:30 am, which means she’ll hope to finish by around 9:00 am. Since I’m in Wave 6, I don’t start until just after 6:00 am. That makes my goal to finish by 10:30 am. And it means I’ll (hopefully) be at mile 18 by 9:00 am when Katie will be FINISHING. I already told her not to hold me accountable for any nasty thoughts I might have about her for that last hour and a half of my race.

photo 1

 

The map above shows the course with mile markers so you all can see where we will be going. Also, if you want to track us I believe you can online or I know you can on the SF Marathon App. My bib number is 60529 and Katie’s is 21097. I’ll also post to at least let you all know that I’m not dead 😉 And you can expect a full report on the weekend and the race after I return on Tuesday. But for now, just keep me in your thoughts and prayers on Sunday… I can use all the help I can get!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Liz @ ourbusybee(s)
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 13:07:43

    AHH! I am so excited for you! You are going to do phenomenally. I did right around 4:30 at MCM – totally doable, and COMPLETELY trust your training! You will be much better prepared than a lot of people out there.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

