Oops!… I Did it Again

21 months ago (give or take) I posted the biggest announcement of my life, to date. That news was my decision to leave behind my amazing job and most of my family and friends to pursue an adventure in California. I left my students, my gymnasts, my class council kids, and my co-workers… and I felt good about it. My career was exactly where it needed to be, but my life was struggling. I have written before that while I love NOVA and while my roots will always be there, I needed to try living somewhere else. I craved new restaurants, new friends, new adventures, and most of all I craved a “new” me. One that focused on life outside of school.

I spent the next few months selling my house, driving across country, and settling into SoCal. Then I traveled. A lot. And then, last April, I got a job!! I’ve really enjoyed my job and it has given me a degree of flexibility and freedom that I love. I’ve moved up from teacher to lead teacher and embraced the added responsibilities that come with that title. I’ve work on curriculum, taught social studies AND math (which I haven’t done yet in a tradition setting). I’ve helped students succeed and I’ve supported my superiors.

So what does all of this rambling have to do with this morning’s announcement on Facebook that today I would be doing something that I had only done once before in my life? Well, if you haven’t guessed it by now… I announced my resignation today. For only the second time in my life, I quit my job.

Before you bum-rush me with questions, let me explain! Then if you still have questions, feel free to comment or shoot me an email/message/text 🙂

1. No, I don’t have another job lined up yet. Or any interviews.

2. Yes, I am actively looking for work but most likely not in the education field. Or at least not classroom teaching.

3. No, nothing dramatic or exciting happened at work to force me to leave. There was honestly just not enough there to make me want to stay. I like the kids, I like the schedule, I like my co-workers… I just don’t LOVE any of it. I haven’t felt passionate about it, and I haven’t given 100% of myself because of that which just doesn’t feel right.

4. No, I didn’t just throw in the towel and walk away today without looking back. I will continue working through this semester, which ends on Friday, January 24th. We operate on a semester system, so I would have new students and a new schedule at that point anyway, which is why I submitted my notice now. This will hopefully allow enough time to find a suitable replacement, which I can train and get up to speed in the next three weeks.

5. Yes, I plan to stay in Encinitas (north San Diego county) for the time being.

6. Yes, I will take any and all concrete leads on jobs in the non-profit, helping children/youth/people, athletic event organizing or career counseling/advising fields of work. Seriously.

As always, thanks to everyone for their support as I shift into yet another phase of my life. I am trying to take time to appreciate the lessons I have learned from this current position and I’m looking forward to seeing what God has in store for me next!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alicia Chin
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 03:10:18

    Congratulations and good luck! I know this is both an exciting and nervous time for you, but if anyone can make fantasticness happen, it is you. If you find yourself with nothing to do and you want to do something worthwhile, you are always happy to help me work on the school I’m opening. 😉

    Like

    Reply

  2. JP3
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 03:26:55

    I love you. You’re amazing.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Raymond Oliver
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 16:29:27

    Karen Changing gears again, Good driving. Raymond & Frances—-reofso@cox.net Sent: Tuesday, January 07, 2014 2:39 AM Subject: [New post] Oops!… I Did it Again

    raysoffunshine posted: “21 months ago (give or take) I posted the biggest announcement of my life, to date. That news was my decision to leave behind my amazing job and most of my family and friends to pursue an adventure in California. I left my students, my gymnasts, my class “

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Scrapbooks and Shoe Fairies | Rays of Funshine
  5. Trackback: #sorryimnotsorry | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

