30-30-30 Month One Update

A month ago I turned 29 and decided to focus on simplicity and the little things this year. I set a goal to do 30 small things, 30 times each, before I turn 30. I’m going to try to update y’all on my progress each month, even though that means paying attention to how quickly 30 is approaching. To complete 30 items in 12 months, that averages 2.5 per month. So in theory, by now I should have done 2 or 3 of each item on my list. But have I?

No chance in hell.

I’ll put the list below with the number complete to date so you can see my progress. Of the 30 items I have done 16 at least twice. So I’m halfway to where I need to be… Sort of. In total this is a chart of 900 items (30 x 30 = 900 for you non-math people). I should have completed 75 items this month (900/12 = 75). I’ve completed 57. But several are all at once items, like scrapbooking and being in SD for 30 consecutive nights. I’m really happy with my sleeping in and board games and avoiding to-do lists. But it’s been winter break, so that helps.

Anyway, I’m sure none of you care but I’m a number, list, chart, progress, plan girl and it’s fun for me to be able to look at the 57 relaxing and fun things I’ve done this past month. One down, only eleven to go (ugh!). Happy New Year everyone!!

30 Things 30 Times Before 30 (Completed items listed)

1. Cook a new dish (1)
2. Watch the sunset (3)
3. Go to yoga class (1)
4. Take a walk for exercise with a friend or friends (1)
5. Attend a church service in person (3)
6. Act like a kid, just because I can (1)
7. Perform a random act of kindness (1)
8. Send a piece of snail mail (1)
9. Spend the night in my new house (consecutively) (I made it 21 days!)
10. Run on the beach (0)
11. Explore a new place in San Diego county (3)
12. Read in my papasan chair (4)
13. Call, FaceTime, or Skype with my extended family (0)
14. Take a nap (2)
15. Go a whole day without using a car (2)
16. Play a board game (5)
17. Read a book in the Bible (2)
18. Have a casual conversation with a complete stranger (1)
19. Leave my phone at home for the day (0)
20. Say no when I want to say yes (1)
21. Say yes when I want to say no (3)
22. Go to a farmers market or street fair (1)
23. Drive without the radio on (3)
24. Spend a day without looking at my to-do lists (4)
25. Create a scrapbook page (0)
26. Play Duolingo app to learn Spanish (2)
27. Pull over at a scenic spot while driving (2)
28. Enjoy a moment without trying to take a picture of it (3)
29. Look at the stars (2)
30. Go to sleep without setting an alarm (5)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Oliver
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 09:43:30

    You did Skype w/us on Christmas Day, right? Have fun at the game today. It is 13 degrees here, w/much lower wind chill. Several inches of heavy snow last night gave us another snow day. Hurray! Love, Mom

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Feb 2 Update (Knee and 30 Things) | Rays of Funshine
  3. Trackback: March 2nd – Three Months into “30 Things” | Rays of Funshine
  4. Trackback: Revised 30 Before 30 Project | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

