Esprit de She Triathlon 2013

As you all know, I’ve been raising money for this race, and Girls on the Run, for a few months. And first, I want to thank again everyone who donated to the cause! As a group, we raised enough money for two scholarship schools and their whole teams. As an individual, I raised enough for two girls to participate in our program for the semester. So THANK YOU!! But back to race day…

20131021-223951.jpg

So as you can see, I started early in the morning surrounded by fog. And I finished in the later morning soaking in the sunshine. The first segment of the race was the swim, my least favorite part. I honestly forgot going into the water that it would be salty (whoops!). We were in Mission Bay which feeds directly into the Pacific. But, the water temperature was 68 degrees which was warmer than it was outside! This was my second time wearing my wetsuit and I was better prepared for how it would feel. This didn’t negate the fact that I hadn’t been in a pool since Atlanta in September. But I felt okay and got through the swim.

20131021-224009.jpg

For whatever reason, I had some difficulty getting my wetsuit off. Luckily they had designated “strippers” who helped me when I got to my station. Yay volunteers! Even if they were high school boys with obvious ulterior motives 😉 But I digress… After changing into my Soulmates tech shirt and bike shorts, I grabbed my bike and was off! For some reason, my age group was the second group to start. Only the survivors and relays went before us. Which meant the first loop of Fiesta Island was fairly open for me and I was feeling GREAT on my bike. Mom reminded me it would potentially be my last race on Dad’s hybrid, since I’m in the market for a road bike, so I definitely took the opportunity to say hi to him as I rode.

20131021-224029.jpg

My goal was to beat my time from last year, in spite of my complete lack of training. My body and mind had needed a break from training but I still felt that I was in better shape than last year. Coming out of the swim, I knew I’d been faster. On the bike, I was again a few minutes faster. But I also knew that my legs were going to be dead weight on the run. It’d been almost six weeks since my last run with the exception of two miles only three days before the race. The good part of the two-loop run, and my Soulmates shirt, was that many women thanked me, encouraged me, or introduced themselves as fellow Soulmates as we crossed paths. Definitely inspirational and an excellent reminder of why I was really there. For my girls.

20131021-224050.jpg

I did manage to keep a decent pace for the 5K and crossed the line smiling as the announcer let the crowd know about the Soulmates program. After my post-race mimosa and Greek yogurt and toppings bar, I gather my equipment and dumped it in the car. Then I hung around to cheer for the other finishers and wait for my official time. When all was said and done, I swam about three minutes faster, I biked about two minutes faster, and I ran 30 seconds slower. That’s a win in my book as my overall time was just over five minutes faster than last year!

20131021-224105.jpg

It was cool to do the same course two years in a row and I’m looking forward to the Carlsbad half in January when I get to repeat that course as well! This was a great day and weekend of sports and friends and fun… All for a good cause! Happy Friday everyone 🙂

20131021-224120.jpg

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raymond Oliver
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 13:58:04

    Good going girl! Requestion Can you writge in a larger font- 14 or more for those of us who have trouble reading??? It would also help if you did not use the light blue since it does not have the contrast we need to read AND we love hearing from you and knowing about your amazing goings on. G-Dad & G- Mom O

    Like

    Reply

  2. Liz @ ourbusybee(s)
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 07:02:15

    Woohoo, great job! Is it me or do pictures of finish lines always give you chills, too? Maybe it’s just me 😉

    It’s so fun to compete on the same course and to see how much you improved. I am excited to repeat my halves from last spring in a few months so I can hopefully see some improvements, too!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Thankful for my SoCal Life | Rays of Funshine
  4. Trackback: Scrapbooks and Shoe Fairies | Rays of Funshine
  5. Trackback: Operation Run A Marathon: SF Edition | Rays of Funshine
  6. Trackback: Esprit de She Triathlon 2014 | Rays of Funshine
  7. Trackback: San Diego Duathlon 2014 | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

