Learn. Dream. Live. Run.

This post is going to be somewhat selfish, and I’m not going to apologize for that. But it also has the opportunity to be interactive, and who doesn’t love a choose-your-own adventure story? Let me explain myself and please, please read this post and consider joining me in whichever way you see fit!

First, let me explain that this fall I will be assistant coaching for an after-school character development program for elementary school girls called Girls on the Run. Our group of twenty girls will meet twice a week for twelve weeks after-school with myself, our head coach, another assistant, and a few high school junior coaches. Each practice we will have a lesson on healthy nutrition, active lifestyles, or positive self-image and self-esteem. Then we will run with the girls and build up their endurance and strength. At the end of the semester, our whole team will complete the Sparkle and Shine 5K with all 35 teams in the San Diego area.

One way you can help is if you volunteer to be a running buddy for one of my girls during their race. Each of our 20 girls will be assigned a buddy for race day (December 8th at 9am) so no girl has to run alone. Many girls will have a parent, neighbor, or other adult-figure in their lives who will volunteer to race with them, but we will need a few extras to fill in as well. Registration isn’t open to the public yet, but if you are interested please shoot me a message and I will let you know when it does open. If running isn’t your thing, you can also just mark your calendars to come out and support my team from the sidelines!

The next way you can support me and my girls is financially. I’ve registered for the 2014 Esprit de She triathlon as a Soulmate. This is the same sprint triathlon as the SheRox race I did last October in Mission Bay. It’ll be a 0.5 mile swim, a 12.4 mile bike, and a 3.1 mile run. It takes place on October 20th and I’m really excited to complete the course again to see how I compare to last year. Girls on the Run is the charity benefactor of Esprit de She this year, so I decided to race for my girls. The proceeds go towards scholarships for girls and schools in lower income areas so they can participate as well. If 33 of you donate just $16 (which would be $1/mile), I’ll hit my goal of $500. No amount is too big or too small and I thank you in advance for your support!

Finally, if any females out there want to race in the Esprit de She, you can sign-up to join me. It’s an incredibly flat course around Fiesta Island and would be a perfect race for those of your first-time triathletes… but no pressure. But you should do it, it will be a lot of fun. I can help you train and give you tips and it will be amazing. And for the guys who feel left out, DONATE or come out on October 20th at 7am to support me. So the bottom line is that you can run with our team, you can race with me, or you can help our girls by donating. Thank you all SO, SO much for even considering and for reading this shameless plug.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Esprit de She Triathlon 2013 | Rays of Funshine
  2. Trackback: Mt Soledad Training Run Recap (Operation RAM) | Rays of Funshine
  3. Trackback: Esprit de She Triathlon 2014 | Rays of Funshine
  4. Trackback: Settling in to North Carolina | Rays of Funshine
  5. Trackback: Living Life in Leucadia | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

