Discovering My Spiritual Gifts

Those of you who have been following me for a while should know that I LOVE my church out here in SoCal, North Coast Church. They just do a number of really amazing things to get their members involved.  I’ve gone rock climbing, sorted donations, folded bulletins, attended weekly bible studies, help catalog attendance records, etc. So when I saw that several summer mini classes were going to be offered, I decided to try one out. My friend, Catherine, and I signed up for “Discovering Your Spiritual Gifts”. Now I have to admit that I’ve only gone to two of three classes so far, and I’m not supposed to really be revealing my results yet because we haven’t had time to really go into what each of these gifts means for our lives… but I’m impatient and want outside feedback!

Those of you that may not know (I didn’t), there are 22 spiritual gifts outlined in the Bible. Everyone has some combination of strengths and weaknesses of all of them. The idea is that once you identify which you are, you should work, serve, and follow those gifts.  You could also use this to target areas of your life you could work on, or accept that some aspects of ministry just aren’t going to be your cup of tea, so why force it?  They are rooted in religious background but most can be applied to secular settings as well.  In my current state of indecision about what’s next for me, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to take the test, get the results, and add that to the pile of resources I use to help steer me through this crazy thing we call life.

The test was 154 questions and we ranked how true the statement was in our lives on a scale of 0-4. Some were tricky, but I tried to just go with my gut and not over-think them too much. We didn’t discuss the specific spiritual gifts beforehand so you couldn’t try to answer in such a way to get a specific result. Now, I’m not going to go too much into what I think of the results in this post, because I want to learn more about some of the spiritual gifts next week.  And because I want your honest feedback.  I will list from top to bottom the 22 spiritual gifts, ranked from the one that most describes me down to the one that is least true of who I am. Gifts that received the same score will be listed as ties. So please, read through these, think about me, and access how accurate or inaccurate you think the results were… then post a comment and let me know 🙂

My Spiritual Gifts (from greatest to least)

1. Hospitality

2. Administration

3. Service

4. Missionary

5. Giving

6. Helps

7. Evangelist

8. Wisdom/Intercession/Leadership/Mercy

12. Faith/Singleness/Exhortation/Knowledge

16. Teaching

17. Shepherding

18. Discernment

19. Prophesy/Healing

21. Tongues/Interpretations

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Claire O.
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 11:03:33

    I’m surprised teaching or shepherding weren’t higher!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

