10 Adventures in 10 Days

The last ten days, from July 4th to July 13th, have been SO MUCH FUN! I’m just going to give you the highlights, so enjoy… and try not to be TOO jealous 😉

1. Birthday Beach BBQ – The fourth started out celebrating my good friend Sean’s birthday on the beach. We went out from D street and set up camp, then spent the afternoon playing in the waves and soaking up the sun. It was fun to just relax and enjoy the beach with good friends and new friends!misc 008

2. Mt Soledad Fireworks Party – After cleaning up from the beach, I headed south to my friend Jesse’s house.  His place overlooks Mission Bay, where all the downtown fireworks take place. I hung out with a bunch of people I didn’t know (except for Jesse and Aswin, shown below) which was actually really fun. Then we watched all the fireworks go off, from downtown and Ocean Beach and Pacific Beach and possibly even Imperial Beach. It was incredible 🙂

misc 016

3. Trampoline Dodgeball – Brian’s friends, the Maxwells, invited a bunch of people to Sky High Sports in Miramar to play an hour of trampoline dodgeball.  It was SO intense, but SO fun! I haven’t seen 20 grown adults having that much fun acting like small children in a long time.  That being said, most were Marines so the competition was fierce.  It was all in good fun though and we constantly switched teams and just kept bouncing and playing… it was actually a great workout!

IMG_1097

4. Red Sox vs. Angels Game – After dodgeball, Brian and I decided to quest up north to Anaheim for a baseball game! It was a perfect summer evening and it turned into a great game. Bri is a lifelong Red Sox fan, which made it that much more heartbreaking when they blew a four-run lead late in the game… and then lost in extra innings.  But I had a great time people-watching, scoring the game, and just getting out of San Diego County!misc 019

5. Kickball Game  – I think I’ve mentioned that I now play in an adult kickball league.  Our game this week was just a scrimmage/pick-up game because of the holiday, but it was still a lot of fun! We all got to practice and even though I tweaked my right quad, it was just fun to be outside with other adults enjoying life.  After a few games we went to Penny Lane and just spent time getting to know each other and hanging out.

6. Koalifornia Dreamin’ – One morning I met up with X and checked out the zoo! I love koalas, I always have. And our amazing zoo just added an entire new exhibit with fourteen of them.  They are adorable and although they were mostly sleeping when we were there, I started to get to know them and can’t wait to see them again. We also stopped by our friends the red pandas and watched them lay in the trees… adorable!

misc 037

7. Carlsbad Boardwalk – One afternoon this week I met my friend Sarah to walk along the Carlsbad boardwalk.  We actually do this quite often, when we meet at It’s a Grind coffee shop and grab our drinks of choice. Then we walk the length of Carlsbad village and boardwalk while we catch up on life.  It’s actually quite relaxing and makes me love Carlsbad a little more each time.IMG_1107

8. Comedy Club – Friday night I had a Groupon to use at The Comedy Store in La Jolla, so five of us met up and checked it out.  I’m usually not a big stand-up comedian fan, but the five that performed were actually really good! It was a good combination of making fun of the audience, making fun of La Jolla, and a few crude jokes thrown in for effect. I think it helped that several were based out of Philly so I could relate to their East Coast humor, lol. I would absolutely go again, but probably not too often as I feel like it’s an activity that needs to be used sparingly.

9. Ice Cream Sandwich Quest – After the show we decided we wanted ice cream sandwiches… but the first place we tried in OB was already closed. Whoops! But this led us to The Baked Bear in Pacific Beach, which we’d never been.  It was incredible! You get to pick everything about your sandwich. Cookies, waffles, or brownies for the sides and whatever kind of ice cream in the middle.  I went with red velvet, snickerdoodle, and cookies ‘n cream ice cream.  It may have been a bit much, lol.  Some of the others got mint chocolate chip ice cream inside of brownies, jealous. I can’t wait to venture here again and try a different combo!IMG_1115

10. Idyllwild Rock Climbing – A group from our church drove 1.5 hours north to Idyllwild to go rock climbing for the day yesterday.  I didn’t know anyone on the trip, but I have never climbed outside before so I was excited to go and explore CA and meet new people! We hiked about 45 minutes straight up to the rock face and then spent the next 5-6 hours climbing. It is a lot different than indoors and I really like it! I have some work to do on technique, especially smearing the slabs, but I LOVE climbing cracks and under-hangs like the route I’m climbing below, which was called “The Guillotine”. If that doesn’t make me hardcore, I don’t know what else would. I also really enjoyed the company of the crew and the other climbers, just genuinely nice people with a love for the outdoors. I can’t wait to go again!IMG_1135

 

Leave a Reply

