Is “Like” Enough?

Alright world, I’m going to pause from my fun-filled life (which has been SO busy since I’ve been home) to talk about my job for a minute.  I’ve described it to you in my earlier posts right after I started and again a few weeks ago. So as time as gone on, I have to say that I like my job. I like my students, I like teaching math more, I like my co-workers, I like not working outside of business hours, I like not being up to my elbows in grading essays, I like having some kind of income…

But at the end of the day, is “liking” my job enough? I think about that a lot and especially lately as several of my co-workers have been hired for full-time teaching positions this coming school year.  I’ve applied for my clear teaching credential, which will be good for five years and is a result of my passing the last two necessary tests.  But the problem is, I still just don’t feel like traditional teaching in a public school setting is next for me.  But what is?!

I know I want to do something I’m passionate about.  I know I’m passionate about helping and working with kids. I know I’m passionate about leading a healthy and active lifestyle. I know I’m passionate about traveling the world and exposing people to cultures different from their own. I like to be outside and moving and interacting and planning and coordinating… So now that I know what I like, can someone please create the perfect job for me? And maybe then call me and hire me on the spot?

My current plan is to continue at my current job, which I have no problems with at all. At least through the summer semester.  Then I’ll really have to decide before we start into our fall semester.  And most likely, I will continue on through the fall unless I find and get a dream job in the next six weeks.  I don’t want to be unemployed again, and I really do enjoy the job I have now.  I’m just not blown away by it. If anyone has any legitimate suggestions, feel free to pass them along!  For right now I want to stay in SoCal, but don’t let that stop you from recommending 🙂  Time for CrossFit!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. airlandandsea
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 21:00:32

    What about looking at teaching jobs overseas at an American school or a DOD school? Another option is being a National Park ranger leading ranger talks. Park Service loves former teacher because they can talk and present to a crowd.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: “Fun”employment? I’m over it. | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

