Step One: Admit Your Addiction

So I’ve often heard that the first step to overcoming an addiction is to admit that you have a problem. This is of course assuming that the addiction is a negative thing and something you want to recover from. But for now, let me just say that I officially have an athletic addiction, specifically with running. And it’s consuming my life πŸ™‚

Now, I don’t know what traditionally serves as step two in these sort of programs, but I’m going to provide the evidence for my case before I worry about that. In the next 75 days, I have currently signed up to run over 30 miles in competitive settings. That’s kind of a lot for someone who doesn’t say they are a runner when asked. Or maybe I just refuse to admit it? But anyway, here’s the breakdown of events for those of you who are curious (or might want to join)! And I’m including the various charities that will be benefiting from my participation too, just to increase awareness of their involvement.

Sat, March 16th – St. Pat’s 10k (6.2 miles) for Rady Children’s Hospital

Sat, April 13th – Neon Run 5K (3.1 miles) for the Surf Rider Foundation

Sun, April 28th – La Jolla Half Marathon (13.1 miles) for the La Jolla Kiwanis Foundation

Sat, May 11th – Color Run 5K for Big Brothers, Big Sisters of Orange County

Sat, May 18th – Beach to Bay Relay Marathon (~4.5 miles) for various Corpus Christi charities

The best part is that I’m running each event with different groups of people! And time isn’t really the main purpose in any of these. Having fun and being active is the point! Although I do have goals set for the 10K and half marathon, but the others are strictly for the fun. And two of them involve being sprayed with colors as we run, so I’m excited to experience that craziness!

Now, I’m pretty sure addiction recovery and rehabilitation means that you plan to change your habits. And I DO plan to change, but not entirely. I’m searching for the right triathlon to sign up for in June or July. That’s not strictly running, it’s biking and swimming too, which is totally different. I’m torn between an Olympic distance or another Sprint distance. A lot of the debate is how close or far do I want to travel to compete? Which is complicated because it will be summer then and my plans aren’t really set at all. So for now, I’m going to keep looking.

I should pause to mention that my right hip is still bothering me, which is a pain, but I am stretching and foam-rolling and heating and massaging it. I just wish it would cooperate! And I recently joined 24-hr fitness for $15 a month thanks to Costco. Having a gym just down the hill from us, like literally .6 miles away, is incredible. I’m actually spinning on a recumbent bike as I type this! It has a pool to help me train for my triathlons and classes so I can keep up with yoga. Speaking of yoga, I just bought a Groupon for three Paddle Yoga classes so I can do yoga on a paddle-board in the lagoon. I love my life πŸ™‚

Alright, I’ll stop now before everyone turns green with envy. And I told myself I would job hunt while biking, lol. Happy March and stay safe in the snow East Coasters!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: St. Patrick’s Weekend of Fun | Rays of Funshine
  2. Trackback: La Jolla Half Marathon | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

