Thirty-One Days of Madness

My plan for March is to lose fat and tone the muscle I have. I also want to continue working on healthier eating and really just avoid “binge” eating foods that I know aren’t good for me.  I often operate under the idea that if I just go ahead and eat the whole container of cookies now, then they won’t be around to tempt me later.

So anyway, here’s my plan for the next thirty-one days. My thinking is that if I have concrete goals and things I should do, and very specific things I shouldn’t do, then I can stay focused and get through it. We’ll see at the end of it how my body looks and feels and make adjustments accordingly going forward. You certainly don’t have to agree with it or support it, but for those of you looking for ideas maybe something in here will help?

Items to remove/avoid:

  1. Traditional desserts (Ice cream, cake, cookies, etc)
  2. Batter-fried foods (French fries, chicken nuggets, etc)
  3. Frozen processed food (pre-made pizzas, chicken taquitos, etc)
  4. Soda (this might be the hardest thing on this list)
  5. Eating or drinking anything but water after 9pm

Things that will happen:

  1. Take one day completely off each week
  2. Strength workout twice a week
  3. Fitness class twice a week (yoga, core, etc)
  4. Swim/bike once a week each
  5. Running five days a week (for half marathon training)

 

Daily morning exercises:

  • 60 seconds hollow holds
  • 55 seconds wall sit
  • 50 twists
  • 45 seconds plank
  • 40 seconds handstand
  • 35 crunches
  • 30 lunges each leg
  • 25 push-ups
  • 20 squats
  • 15 triceps dips
  • 10 fire hydrants each leg
  • 5 triceps push-ups
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Oliver
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 17:51:49

    Hold on a minute here. Are you putting Brian through boot camp again? HA! Your blogs inspire & challenge me. You already look amazing—leaner, stronger, more toned, more muscled, more fit, better skin, glow, happiness, etc. than ever before. You are also quite focused. I want a little taste of CA living in VA. Guess spring break in Mexico will have to do. I am doing more exercise myself—2 days of PT, 2 days of water aerobics class, 2 days of walking/biking indoors & 1 day of water exercise w/a friend. Now about that food component . . .

    When do you hear from any of the schools about interviews, etc.? Keep me posted. I am sending positive vibes your way.

    Love & hugs, Susan

    Like

    Reply

  2. Alina Kostreba
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 22:53:59

    Those morning exercises would be a great way to get up! But a question – hollow hold I think I get, but what’s twists? I have so many options in my head.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Update on the Madness | Rays of Funshine
  4. Trackback: Two-Thirds and Tired | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

