Days 12-13: Welcome to Easter Island!

Thursday morning was an early one as we had a 9:30am flight to Easter Island. The flight was five and a half hours, but honestly I didn’t even notice. LAN airlines is amazing and we each had entertainment screens with tons of options. I watched P.S. I Love You (a tear-jerker) and Going the Distance (a comedy) both of which attracted stares from my fellow passengers. Whoops. Upon arrival we were greeted with fresh flower leis and driven to our home for the long weekend.

 

Brett, Cynthia, and I are staying in the guest house of a tour guide down here, Marc. They live up on a hillside that overlooks town and the ocean.  It’s absolutely stunning.  For dinner we picked up Belinda in our rental car (I get to drive!) and had a lovely meal of steak, shrimp, fish, and sweet potato chips. Then we watched the sunset from our porch, dropped Belinda off at her place, and hung out at home. I was up early this morning to go for a run. This time the family’s dogs joined me and I had to turn back early because I was too nervous they were going to get into a fight with the aggressive German shephard’s we kept passing. So I finished my run by making laps around the family’s property (with three dogs in tow).

 

Then all four of us joined up with three others in Marc’s van to tour the south side of the island. Again, I am perturbed that I can’t link pictures, but the Internet is so shifty here that I’ll be lucky to get this blog posted at all… But I am on the most remote island in the world, so that’s kinda of to be expected. We spent all day visiting sites of the Moai which are the giant statues this place is famous for. The best place was the “Factory” or hillside where they were cut out of rock, because they are scattered all down the hill in various states of transport.

 

Some facts about the Moai (Mo-I): They have bodies, which are typically underground because they were placed in deep holes to allow the artisans to finish carving their faces. There are over 1,400 on the island in varying stages of completion, and about 400 have hats mad from a different, redder, stone.  The Moai face inland on their pedestools to oversee and protect the villages they surrounded. Each one was crafted in the image of a king, who was buried below, from one of the 12-15 tribes that were native here. The largest Moai weighs almost 90 tons and is over 60 feet tall.

 

After our tour we watched the sunset from the balcony where we were eating dinner down in town.  This was a truly amazing day and I couldn’t help but think about the fact that I will likely never again be in this place, so I should do my best to appreciate every single moment of it.  I may not get the chance to post again from here, but I’ll do my best!

Leave a Reply

