Treat-or-Treat

I don’t like tricks, or scary things, or people jumping out behind bushes, or suspenseful scenes in movies… so needless to say, Halloween and really most of October isn’t my thing.  I have taken this time to pause from my health food attempts and make some treats!

The first was for my growth group last week, we rotate who brings dessert and it was my turn.  I wanted simple because I’ve been busy.  So I went off a Pinterest image I saw and made Halloween rice krispie treats.  Basically just make regular “batter” using Rice Krispies cereal, butter, and marshmallows but then mix in candy corn and Reece’s pieces for a fall look.  One hint, put the Reece’s pieces in the freezer before mixing because the warm mixture started to pull the candy shell off the chocolate while stirring.  I chose to put the treats in my bundt pan because it isn’t used enough and that turned this into a cake of sorts.  That way we could just slice the treats instead of digging in the square pan with our fingers.  I think it turned out well, but it was super sweet!

The second treat I tried was something I am going to call “Browkies” really just because it sounds good.  Basically I mixed up brownie mix and poured it into a pan, then mixed cookie dough batter and dropped that on top.  In order to get the marbled effected, I dropped the cookie dough in globs instead of smoothly spreading it.  Some people add a layer of Oreo cookies in between these two for even more insanity but I didn’t have any in the house.  An exciting comment for those of you who claim not to be chefs, Betty Crocker makes a boxed mix for this invention now: just add water, butter, and an egg!

Both of these were simple, cheap, and delicious options for Halloween parties and gave me an excuse to try out some recipes without gaining 10 pounds eating them all myself.  Have a safe and happy Halloween everyone!

Leave a Reply

