Track 02 – Ocean Avenue

For the second track on the soundtrack of my life, I have chosen to shoot over to a completely different place, time, and genre (true to my eclectic tastes).  This song is Ocean Avenue by Yellowcard and takes me back to the summer of 2006.

A little back story first for some of you newer to my life:  I had an incredible group of friends growing up.  Starting in high school and continuing through college, there were 10-15 of us that just had fun together and hung around.  Most of this group were guys, so you can imagine the trouble and chaos we got into, and the harassment I dealt with.

The reason this song jumps out to me is one weekend in particular where the gaggle of us jumped in our cars and drove to VA Beach.  We all crashed in as few hotel rooms as possible, spent the days in the sun and the nights having fun.  I was going to post some pictures or videos, but decided it was best not to (if you were there and want some memories, let me know!). The real pull was that three of our own were set to perform with their band at Warped Tour.  We were all there to support, promote, and live life with those guys and it exemplified how no matter what, we were there for each other.

I was once in a discussion with this group about what kind of person we all were, or what we each would excel at in life.  Going around, everyone had something: song writer, military officer, software programmer, college athlete, etc.  When we came to how I would shine, the only response I remember is someone saying that I was a supporter. And I would succeed in life by supporting everyone else’s dreams and talents. With this group, I’m sure they meant it with a negative slant because it implied that I had no other real talent or ability, but I took it to mean that I would be the behind-the-scenes person lifting everyone else up and helping them shine.  Which is exactly what I love to do.

We don’t all keep in touch now, or see each other all that often, but I still think about that weekend and those times and people who really helped shape the person I’m becoming … And I’m so grateful to each and every one of them.  Enjoy the lyrics to Ocean Avenue below:

There’s a place off Ocean Avenue
Where I used to sit and talk with you
We were both 16 and it felt so right
Sleeping all day, staying up all night
Staying up all night

There’s a place on the corner of Cherry Street
We would walk on the beach in our bare feet
We were both 18 and it felt so right
Sleeping all day, staying up all night
Staying up all night

If I could find you now things would get better
We could leave this town and run forever
Let your waves crash down on me and take me away

There’s a piece of you that’s here with me
It’s everywhere I go, it’s everything I see
When I sleep, I dream and it gets me by
I can make believe that you’re here tonight
That you’re here tonight

If I could find you now things would get better
We could leave this town and run forever
I know somewhere, somehow we’ll be together
Let your waves crash down on me and take me away

I remember the look in your eyes
When I told you that this was goodbye
You were begging me not tonight
Not here, not now
We’re looking up at the same night sky
And keep pretending the sun will not rise
We’ll be together for one more night
Somewhere, somehow
If I could find you now things would get better
We could leave this town and run forever
I know somewhere, somehow we’ll be together
Let your waves crash down on me and take me away

Leave a Reply

