NoVa to SoCa: Days 9-11

Okay, I left you all in Arizona after the Grand Canyon.  Since then I’ve crossed into Nevada, spent two nights in Vegas, and then FINALLY made it to California!!

But I’m getting ahead of myself.  So we drove a lot the morning of day nine (shocking, I know) and then came to the Hoover Dam.  I was really excited about this because I missed it when I was in Vegas in the spring.  And (nerd alert), I show my students a video series called Life After People… it’s about what would happen on earth if all people suddenly disappeared one day.  Anyway, the Hoover Dam would be the last human-made object to disintegrate on the planet.  So cool!  This dam is a power plant, river regulator, and astonishing achievement for USA.  We did a tour down into it, walked over the bridge near it, and Funshine even drove across it.  Best pit stop of the trip.

Then on to Vegas!  We stayed at the Mirage the first night, which was incredible.  We spent most of our time that day in the northern section of the strip just people watching, playing the slots, etc.  That night we went to Mystere in Treasure Island.  I’ve been wanting to see a Cirque du Soleil show for a long time and it did not disappoint.  I will say that I missed the “in the action” feel of the big top that Absinthe had, but the quality and size of acts were a lot bigger.

The second night we switched hotels to Excalibur because we hadn’t originally planned to stay a second night.  And this hotel offers a wide variety of shows to enjoy… And what girl wouldn’t want to sleep in a castle?!  Saturday during the day we explored the southern part of the strip.  Oh, I should say that we found the Venetian and the Bellagio to be the most impressive.  Check out some of my pictures on Facebook to see the insides.  Paige and I played some roulette as well, and she even doubled her money!  I think it was beginner’s luck, but either way she left the tables happy.

This morning we were up EARLY to book it to Encinitas in time to scope out the apartment complex and meet my storage units.  But that’s a story for another day… tomorrow I move in to my new apartment!!  Pictures and stories to come soon, and probably my commentary on the Olympics when I get a chance too.  Good night, guys!

 

Leave a Reply

