Midsummer’s Movie Mania

This week my friend Claire and I decided to see a bunch of movies… and then I watched some more on my own. I really like movies. I saw some in the theater and others via Redbox. And they were all over the map as far as genre goes: action, comedy, animated, romantic comedy, drama. Anyway, here are my reviews!

Magic Mike – Obviously the appeal of this movie is the complete lack of clothing on Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey. Their dance moves aren’t too shabby either. As far as the plot goes, I wasn’t expecting it to be earth-shattering but it was surprising deep… or at least it tried to be. Which was confusing in a movie based on strippers. But overall, if you don’t think too much and just enjoy the music and the movement, it’s great!

Reality of Love – This was an older movie (2004) and embarrassingly enough, an ABC Family production. In my defense, I didn’t know that at the time. Bradley Cooper and Jason Priestley are the stars in this film about an actor fading out of the limelight and his agents attempt to boost is public appeal… by creating a reality television show much like the Bachelor. It was cute, romantic, and even had a twist at the end I hadn’t predicted! Would I pay more than $1.26 to see it? No. Was it worth it for a late summer night movie? Probably.

Brave – All I knew about this going in was that it was animated and about an Irish princess. I saw it before noon at Tyson’s where movies are just $6 that early, bonus! It was cute, had a feel-good story plot, and held my interest. I liked the myths/legends that were tied in throughout and there wasn’t a super scary bad-guy like so many children’s movies have these days. I’d definitely take kids to see this, but there wasn’t a ton of “adult content” for the average person. I’d wait until it’s out of the theaters.

People Like Us – I was really excited to see this movie because it looked like an endearing story. Chris Pine plays the son of a rich, former rock star who wasn’t the best father. The twist is that after the father dies, Sam (played by Chris) discovers a family he never knew he had. Most of the movie revolves around these new relationships and how Sam chooses to deal with his bitterness towards his dad. Probably my favorite movie of the bunch because it was funny, serious, intriguing, and complex enough to keep me engaged. Definitely put this on your lists!

Act of Valor – Several people have recommended this movie to me since it came out this spring. I was a little nervous because while I enjoy action movies, I don’t love real-life dramas that involve a lot of dark scenes and people jumping out. Obviously this was going to be that type of movie as it is based on the action of U.S. Navy Seals. So I got it from Redbox and watched it last night. It was exactly the type of movie I thought it would be, and I can’t say I actually enjoyed watching it because I was tense the whole time. But it was interesting to get a (Hollywood enhanced) look at what those soldiers do. Their lives are so far removed from mine that it’s hard to imagine with visuals like this to show us. So just know going in that it’s intense, but I think it was worth it in the end.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 08:37:21

    Thought “Brave” was about a Scottish princess not Irish.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

