Diary of a Traveling Vagabond

I’m writing this post from the Denver airport, something I’ve never attempted before (posting in public). I’m on my way after a great visit with my brother, sister-in-law, and adorable niece. I have written a few posts about my trip, but I promise a good one about my backpacking adventure will be up soon!

As for what’s up next, I will be in Virginia for the rest of this week, for the last time. I plan to spend my week seeing people for the last time, loading up my car, working out, and just relaxing (which includes sleeping in the same bed for five consecutive nights!). Next weekend I am going to my college friends’ wedding in Alexandria and then hitting the open road for California (eventually). In thinking about my summer, I realized that not only will I be going to my fiftieth state (New Mexico) but I was also at least pass through 25 of our 50 states in a short two month period!

Here’s the breakdown:
Early June trip to VA, MD, PA, NJ, NY, CT, and DE. That was seven states in one weekend. Then, this trip out west with my family was CO, WY, SD, ND, and NE. That adds another five states, so I’m up to twelve currently.

My road trip is going through VA (a repeat), WV, NC, SC, GA, AL, FL, MS, LA, TX, NM, AZ, NV, and CA… Thirteen additional states in as many days! So there you go, in the months of June and July I will have been to exactly half of the United States, and DC. So it’s no wonder that I’m excited for my week off from travel coming up and even more excited to get to California and just relax for a while.

Anyway, enough rambling about my travels. It’s time for me to grab lunch before boarding begins. Oh! And I’ve been meaning to ask you all for your favorite road-tripping songs to add to my iPad for my journey west. Either comment to this blog or send me a text and I’ll add your ideas to my playlist!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Claire O.
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 12:15:13

    Dixie Chicks, Wide Open Spaces
    Momma and the Poppas, California Dreamin’

    I’ll have others…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

