Craigslist Rant

Okay, I am usually very positive on this blog but I’m going to be brutally honest for a minute.  What has happened to common courtesy in this world?  I’ve been selling a bunch of stuff on Craiglist to prepare for my upcoming move and it never ceases to amaze me at how inconsiderate people are these days.  I can’t complain too much, because again I’ve sold a decent amount of stuff and I know going in it’s going to be like this, but I just wanted to share a few stories while I sit here and wait…

Example #1 – A guy is supposed to be picking my sofa/loveseat up right now.  We confirmed 6:30-7pm (because of potential traffic) tonight.  So I made plans accordingly.  He just called (at 6:50) and said “I’m on the road but left late and it will be 25-30 minutes.  He lives in Manassas, it’s not that far which means he didn’t even leave his home until 6:15-6:30.  Why didn’t he just say 7-7:30pm?  Annoying.

Example #2 – After SEVERAL email exchanges back and forth about days and times that worked for us, I agreed to meet another guy with a small bookshelf at 6:30 one night and told him I’d be needing to be quick because I had a 7pm meeting.  Not only does the loser show up 10 minutes late, he then decides the bookshelf is too small for what he needs!  AND he says something along the lines of, “I know you put up pictures and the dimensions, but it just wasn’t going to be that small in my head”.  Seriously?!  I told you how small it was!  Waste of my time.

Example #3 – My biggest pet-peeve with Craigslist is when I post something for a certain price and email with a person back and forth and they agree to take the item.  Then, when they show up, as they load the piece, they ask if I’ll take less than I listed.  Negotiations are all fine and good (and expected) but do that via e-mail FIRST.  Or at least when you show up.  Once it’s in your car, you’re paying my asking price.  Sorry.  And don’t pull the “I’m a single mom” or the “It’s for my aging father” cards.  I’m heartless and just don’t care.

So there’s my brutal honesty about Craigslist and people these days… and yes, I do feel a little better now 🙂  Thanks for listening/reading and happy Friday!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. raysoffunshine
    May 25, 2012 @ 18:33:19

    As an update, the two guys that came to get the couch/loveseat were Indian computer geeks so watching them struggle to get the couches down my flight of stairs ALMOST made it worth the wait… I had to go into the kitchen so they didn’t see me laughing 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

