She said, “Well, I’m goin’ to California”…

… A place where the sun always shines.  Well, I’m goin’ to California, and I’m leavin’ everything behind. ~Kenny Chesney

I couldn’t have said it better myself.  Consider this my official announcement that I am making a huge change in my life and have decided to quit my job, sell my house, and move to California this summer… and I am SO excited 🙂

Most of you are probably thinking, “What?! Why? Where? When?” or possibly, “Can I go?”.  I will answer all of those questions to the best of my ability in this blog, but please feel free to bug me about my move because I love talking about it.  First, I have lived here my whole life and while I really enjoy it, and my job, I am ready to try something new.  I also feel like if I don’t ever go and try someplace new, I won’t ever really know where I want to be.

So, I have decided to move to Encinitas, CA which is about 20 miles north of San Diego and right on the coast.  It has an adorable downtown area, and is close enough to the city but yet far enough away.  Oh, and did I mention the TONS of hiking, biking, walking, and running trails?  I’ve been out to visit a few times recently and just love the more relaxed atmosphere as well as the people who are so friendly and tend to meet up to work out or spend time outside, instead of sitting around in stuffy bars networking for work.

My plan for the next year is to head west sometime in mid-July, arriving 14 weeks from today (July 28th).  I’ll then settle in to a healthier/more relaxed and active life while I work part-time tutoring or mentoring.  I also want to volunteer more with children and get involved in church.  Then, I’ll apply for masters programs in History at UC San Diego and SDSU, and possibly some others.  This degree will open up a lot of new opportunities for me in the education field, like teaching at a community college, teaching dual enrollment classes, or teaching for distance learning (online) programs.  Just more options for later down the road.

I have one good friend and a few other acquaintances in the area, but I’m pretty much leaving my good friends and most of my family behind on the East Coast.  I’m nervous about that aspect of it, but again, I’ve got to shake things up.  My house is currently on the market (fingers crossed that it sells quickly and easily!) and I have told my school that I won’t be back next year.  My principal and department chair were both super supportive of my plan, but also said if I ever make it back to LoCo to give them a call.

I’m excited, I’m nervous, I’m a little bit crazy… but I’m taking a leap of faith and will absolutely keep you all posted as this adventure continues!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: My Love-Hate Relationship with D.C. « Rays of Funshine
  2. Trackback: Craigslist Rant « Rays of Funshine
  3. Trackback: The Great Migration « Rays of Funshine
  4. Trackback: Oops!… I Did it Again | Rays of Funshine
  5. Trackback: New England Escapade 1: Coastal Cruise to Maine | Rays of Funshine
  6. Trackback: It’s Time Again for a Change | Rays of Funshine
  7. Trackback: NC to NC – The Packing Phase | Rays of Funshine
  8. Trackback: Big Life Decision… | Rays of Funshine
  9. Trackback: Saying Good-bye to my Partner in Crime | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

