Workouts and Water

That was a weird title, I apologize.  Basically I’m going to chat a little bit about what I’m doing in the workout world.  I talked at some point kind of recently about my IT band and how it’s been giving me a lot of trouble.  I had a great run a few weeks ago and then ever since then it’s been tight.  I have tried using the foam roller on it (SO painful… like it brings tears to my eyes every time) and I have tried stretching before and after runs and during sometimes.  I can only get about two miles before it locks up and starts to buckle.  Frustrating to say the least.

I beginning to think that all the stationary biking and elliptical workouts aren’t helping either.  But it doesn’t hurt when I’m doing them… just when I run.  Ugh.  Swimming doesn’t seem to have as much of a negative effect, which makes sense.  Alas, I have been working out every day for weeks, at least 30 minutes on the bike.  I’d like to get into more strength/agility sports again like rock-climbing, tennis, gymnastics, etc.  I just need to branch out and explore some of those options.  Or go to more classes at the gym, instead of just doing cardio by myself every day.  It is one of my 2012 goals too… so I’ll need to work on that.

The water part of this blog is that I’m trying to cut down on how much diet soda (the only soda I drink).  It’s hard because instead of snacking sometimes I grab a soda to get some taste in my mouth.  But I know the sugar in it isn’t the best for me and dehydrates my body.  So I’ve started experimenting with flavored (non-carbonated) waters, or Crystal Light powders or anything that has a little flavor without quite so much sugar.  Suggestions are welcome!

I have found that the colder the water, the more likely I am to stick with it in pure form.  I’ve also found that drinking through a straw encourages me to drink more water… I’ve always loved straws (I know that sounds weird) and so I’m sticking with an orange cup I have with a built-in straw to try to promote my water intake.

On that note, I’m off to Atlanta to be a Maid of Honor!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. renita
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 06:49:27

    Try Zico for post workout coconut water plus b vitamins
    Your SI(lowback) may need to be adjusted as your It band is not improving with foam roller and stretching

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 22:19:57

    My nutritionist told me to put some drops of vanilla extract in my water – no sugar there. Also get a jug of water and put some sliced cucumbers in it and let it sit. That’s a very refreshing taste as well.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

