Laugh it Up, Chuckles

I firmly believe that laughter is an essential component to a happy and successful life.  I also think it is important to be able to laugh at yourself.  So here are two examples of situations where I laughed at myself this week.  Please also use these as examples of how scattered my brain is right now trying to plan and coordinate everything going on in my life right now.

Situation #1 – “The Case of the Missing Key”

Monday morning, I wake up and work out, then shower and get ready to roll out to work.  Minor problem: my car key is not on the stand where it should be.  No big deal, run upstairs and check the coffee table.  Nope.  Alright, check the bags and clothes I wore on Sunday.  Still nothing.  A little concerned now, I text my amazing co-worker who turns around to come get me.  As she pulls in the driveway, I find the spare/valet key so we both drive to work.

As I pull out on the boulevard and pick up speed, I hear a “clack, clack, clack” and quickly look in the rear view mirror.  What do I see?  My car key, flying off the roof and into the middle of the road.  So I pull over into the next turn lane, hit the flashers, and jog back.  Then I play a quick game of Frogger in rush hour traffic and heels to get my car key.  As I get back in the car, I just start laughing.  At least God was very clear from the start how this week was going to go 🙂

Situation #2 – “The Case of the Blistered Toes”

So today, I had a change of schedule and there was absolutely perfect weather.  I decided to walk the four miles (round-trip) to Zinga! for frozen yogurt.  All of this was a great plan: get some exercise, get some sun, have a sorta healthy snack, perfect.  So the problem?  I have a pair of athletic flip-flops that are meant to be worn for walking.  They have a soft cushion and are super comfortable. So I throw them on with my shorts and tank and I’m off.  I was talking to Mom on the phone and not really paying attention, until I started to feel a pain in my feet…

Looking down, I notice that there is blood on the thong part of my sandals.  Whoops.  I didn’t take into account the fact that I have worn flips all of six days this year.  My feet (really my toes) are not broken in yet and aren’t used to the constant rubbing.  So I made a really smart move and took my sandals off and kept on trucking.  I did put the flips back on to enter the store (with the thong in between my second and third toes).  By the time I was home, after alternating between wearing my sandals awkwardly and not wearing them at all, I had bleeding blisters on my big and second toes and regular blisters on the balls and heels of my feet.  Needless to say, I will be wearing shoes for walking for the next few weeks.  Good times!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: It’s May, Time to Get Serious « Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

