Whirlwind Weekend Part 1

Alright, get ready for a lot of posts in the next few days.  Because I’ve been busy!  I’ll start with last Friday when I left school early with my assistant coach and two of our gymnasts.  We hit the road around noon and quickly got stuck in holiday traffic.  It should take us about 3.5 hours to get to Virginia Beach, but instead it took us just over 5 hours.  Aside from that, we had a great time at the State Meet.

Friday night we watched the team competition and saw some incredible gymnastics.  Our girls were extremely impressed and really got motivated for the next day.  After hearing them through the wall for a few hours, I finally played “Mom” and texted them to go to bed and rest up for their competition around 11pm.  Meanwhile, I stayed up later to grade a bunch of papers for my students since I’d gotten a little behind.  In the morning, I got up early and went for a run on the beach!

Our girls were grouped with the rest of the individuals from our regional and honestly, this is one of my favorite parts of the season.  The girls and coaches are so supportive of each other, it’s like no other sport. Each coach had 1-4 gymnasts and we all helped each other move equipment, adjust mats, and just cheered each other on.  It was like the underdog A/AA teams against the giant AAA teams!  Our girls did really well and absolutely earned the right to claim they were State Competitors and we were so proud of them!

Then the weekend took a crazy spin… my co-worker picked me up from the meet and drove me to Norfolk Airport as soon as my last girl was done competing.  We made it to the airport in time for me to run through security and hop on a plane.  I had a layover in Dallas/Fort Worth and then touched down at my final destination just before midnight where a friend from high school picked me up… stay turned to see where we were and what we did!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Kickin’ it in Cali « Rays of Funshine
  2. Trackback: Cardiff to Carlsbad « Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

