More Electronic Upgrades

So last week, or really earlier this week, I bought an iPad.  I talked about it a little in my previous post.  I’ve now played with it a little and still absolutely love it!  I also just got the cover in the mail so I will now allow myself to take it out of the house.  Can’t wait to use it on my many upcoming trips to stay connected and entertain myself, as well as in life for keeping lists and my calendar straight.

Then yesterday, while eating lunch with my mother, it came up that she needed a new camera.  I have been thinking about getting a new one as well and that idea was confirmed on Friday night when I realized that after I zoomed in I could not zoom out.  We headed to Costco and ended up getting her a Nikon Coolpix S6200… I think?  Don’t quote me on that.  They had more of the standard point-and-shoot models there, which is perfect for her but I wanted a little more.  So I headed to Ace Photo in Ashburn to talk about the best options.

After talking with the experts about my criteria, then coming home to research some more on my own and price compare, I ended up driving back over to buy my new camera!  I settled on the Nikon Coolpix S9100 (shown below).

The main reasons I chose this camera were that it was sturdy, has a huge zoom (18x optical), has a higher resolution than my old one (12.1 megapixels), and is still compact enough to fit in a small clutch or even my back pocket if needed.  Color options were black, red, or silver and I went with silver.  It’s one of the larger “compact” digital cameras, which is what allows it to have the bigger zoom than before.  It also has an amazing video recorder and a lot of other cool features that I can’t wait to try out!

The next two weeks are going to be crazy, but I’ll post when I can.  As a teaser: look for a few 2012 goals to be achieved and even potentially a bucket list item!

Leave a Reply

