Energizing and Eclectic… I Work Out

By now you all should know that music is a big part of my life, see my recent post.  When working out at the gym, it is a necessity (unless I’m swimming, then I suffer).  Yesterday morning I was all geared up for my 5am workout and planned to do 30 minutes on the elliptical, 30 minutes on the treadmill, and 30 minutes in the pool.  Obviously, music was required.  So I plugged in to my old-school, first generation iPod shuffle, set it to random, and got to work.

Not far into my workout (I was still on the elliptical) the new song “Sexy and I Know It” by Lmfao came on.  The lyrics were extremely encouraging as the hook is, “Ahh girl look at that body, Ahh girl look at that body, Ahh girl look at that body, I-I work out”.  Now I realize this is a guy talking about how good he looks and making sure the ladies notice.  But in my head (with the floor-to-ceiling mirror in front of me) I started repeating it over and over, like “Check yourself out, girl.  Do that elliptical. Work out!”

I’m sure y’all are laughing at me by now, but just wait for the eclectic part of this to kick in.  The very next song, after getting all jazzed up with that last club mix, was “I Learned from You” by Miley Cyrus.  (Note to self: Update my iPod to eliminate slow songs).  Because I’d just been so pumped up by the last song, I was really listening to the lyrics of this next song.  The chorus of it is, “I learned from you that I do not crumble, I learned that strength is something you choose”.  Initially I again just felt motivated not to give up on my workout and just keep going.  But then I got to thinking, as Billy Ray joined Miley in the song, that the lyrics totally apply to one of the many things I’ve learned from my Dad.  To not give up, be positive and fight to the finish.  Even on his weakest days, he chose to be strong.  What better motivation is there in life?  If he could deal with and get through all that he endured in life, I could certainly finish my workout, no problem.

Needless to say, I had a great rest of the workout and actually enjoyed my time in the gym!  It’s amazing the messages that can be conveyed in songs, and how certain lyrics heard at the right moment can affect our lives.  I encourage all of you to slow down and really listen to the music, whatever genre you prefer.

Leave a Reply

