Most Expensive Snow-Free Ski Trip Ever

This past weekend I headed up the mountain for my annual UVA ski weekend with friends.  The only slight hitch was the lack of snow… but that didn’t stop us from having a good time!  We just sat around and caught up with one another Friday night.  Until late into the night.

Saturday we woke up and checked the thermometer. It said 42 degrees. At 7:15am.  Needless to say, that’s not cold enough for snow making to happen overnight.  According to the ski report, “12 slopes” were open.  I had my doubts. We went to the overlook to see how bad it was.  The answer: bad. In reality only four real slopes were open and they had brown patches all over them.  And it was only going to get worse as the day went on.  We passed on skiing and headed back to the house for movies and games.  It was a much-needed lazy day, with most of us taking naps at some point.

That night we decided to get out of the house and headed to the local restaurant/bar for a drink.  There was a local band playing that was actually good and the crowd was a lot of fun.  When we got back to the house we watched another movie until late in the night (again) and then crashed.  Sunday we got up and headed home.

Now, that doesn’t sound expensive at all, right?  Because we had plenty of time to hang out, I had time to test-drive the iPads my friends have.  I fell in love.  I’ve been looking for a smaller laptop to take when I travel, but didn’t know what I wanted for sure.  I love the laptop I currently use, but it’s not really portable.  Well, not easily.  I just loved how easy the iPad was to use and link to everything I need.  It’s the perfect item to get for short trips and taking to and from school.  So I bought one on the way home because I found it on sale.  SO fun to play with and explore!  I have a lot to learn but am loving my new toy so far.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cynthia
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 07:57:44

    I am so jealous!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: More Electronic Upgrades « Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

