12 Goals for 2012

Okay, so 2011 happened.  I’m not really one for looking back.  Instead, I’m looking forward.  Especially because 212 is my favorite number, so the year 2012 should be especially good for me! You all know by now that I love lists.  So I’m making a list of things I want to do this next year.  Some are very specific one-day/event items, others are more long-term.  As always, if you want to help or participate just let me know!  And Happy New Year 🙂

1. Leave the Country – The last time I did was summer 2009.  This needs to change. ASAP.

2. Actually Skydive – I bought a Groupon in June. Bad weather and timing has postponed my previous attempts.  I have until July to use this.  I want to go as soon as they re-open for the spring.

3. Find workout buddies – I’ve recently learned that it’s more fun to workout with someone else.  Running doesn’t suck quite so much, I work out harder, and I tend to go more.  So if anyone who lives near me wants to go to my gym for classes and/or anyone wants to meet up to walk, run, hike, bike, etc.  Let me know!

4. Go back to school – For a while now I’ve been thinking about getting a master’s of history or another educational master’s degree (counseling? gifted ed? admin?).  Each of these options has their advantages and disadvantages and it will probably come down to the right program.  Meaning, will I try to do this online? in summers only? take a year or two off teaching?

5. Participate in more charity events – Like running in charity races, or taking a polar bear plunge to raise money, or going on mission trips.  Something to give back in little ways, especially if all I have to do is run or walk or bike or swim.  I’m in!

6. Go to another new state – I have three left in order to accomplish my goal of going to all 50.  They are New Mexico, North Dakota, and Nevada.  Any suggestions of cool things to do in any of them (besides Vegas, which is obvious)?

7. Attend more live sporting events – Why do I waste my time watching it on tv or in a bar?  I should just go and increase the chance of having fun and meeting other people who like sports.  This particularly applies to UVA and DC sporting events.  Roller derby is absolutely on this list, for the record.

8. Send more snail mail – I am not a very articulate writer, but I do know that everyone enjoys getting “real” mail mixed in with their bills every so often.  I used to send cards, snacks, holiday treats, etc. through the mail to my close friends.  I want to get back in that habit, just because it’s a fun way to let them know I’m thinking about them.

9. Take a leap of faith – I’m not even sure what this one means yet.  It could be a feeling, emotion, situation, change, adventure, way of thinking… I’d like to believe I’ll know it when it happens.

10. Explore – My county, my state, my country, the world… I mean this in the sense that I don’t just fly somewhere, look around for a day and fly home.  My vacations and trips tend to be over-planned.  I need to remember/force myself to look around, wander aimlessly, go with the flow and see where it takes me.  Again, this one is open to interpretation but I like it.

11. Down size – I have a ton of stuff.  Tons, even. Many has been put into storage and forgotten about.  So I’d like to go through it all and see if there’s anything I can get rid of, find a new home for, actually bring out and use.  My house is too big for me, which doesn’t help.  But I need to weed through it all and lighten my load.

12. “Love life, Be brave” – This one is the most important to me.  I have a ring that says “Love life” on the outside and inscribed on the inside, where only I know it’s there, is “Be brave”.  This is just a reminder for me to really take time to enjoy my life, who I am, and what I do.  But at the same time, if I find myself in new or different situations, I should be brave and not back out because I’m unsure about the possible outcome.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Making Progress and Flipping Out « Rays of Funshine
  2. Trackback: More Electronic Upgrades « Rays of Funshine
  3. Trackback: Spontaneity in Sin City « Rays of Funshine
  4. Trackback: This was a Down Weekend? « Rays of Funshine
  5. Trackback: She said, “Well, I’m goin’ to California”… « Rays of Funshine
  6. Trackback: Today I Jumped Out of a Plane « Rays of Funshine
  7. Trackback: Graduate School: Round Two « Rays of Funshine
  8. Trackback: Top Twelve Pics of 2012 « Rays of Funshine
  9. Trackback: 2013 “Resolutions” « Rays of Funshine
  10. Trackback: The Countdown to 30 Begins | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

