Openly OCD and Over it

Yesterday, I found a note from a friend that was written a few weeks ago.  He was completely calling me out on being a little obsessive and while he was wrong in his particular case, it is no secret to those of you that know me that I like to be in control.  That being said, I’ve realized that it’s not all so good to be so scheduled and controlling.

I’ve also realized that I am way less compulsive when I’m comfortable with people.  Which for the last few weeks has been my friends from high school.  I’ve stayed out too late, drank a little too much, skipped obligations, and just all around relaxed my schedule a little bit.  That tells me two things: 1. I’m willing to go out of my way to see the people I truly care about and 2. It’s good to feel a little out-of-control every once in a while.

Now, something else I’ve known forever but can really see clearly right this second.  I LOVE Christmas and all the chaos that surrounds it.  Something about a holiday that’s all about giving and doing for others is just incredible to me.  My OCD self is currently sitting in my living room with boxes, bows, tissue paper, ribbon, shopping bags, gifts, and tags literally all over the place.  And I have no plans of cleaning it up any time soon.  It even makes me happy to see all the stuff everywhere… I’d post a picture to prove it, but that would ruin the gifts I haven’t wrapped yet that are strewn all over the place 🙂

I also really like making a mess in the kitchen… but only when I’m baking winter treats.  Which is what I’m planning to do as soon as I hit spell check and publish. Happy holidays everyone!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Ribbon Wreaths! | Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

