Mixing It Up

I’ve spent most of my day mixing things up.  We’ll start first with the shuffling of my furniture.  I’ve just gotten tired of the same old stuff in my house so I thought I would try to rearrange it and see if that sparked my interest again.  I’ve also been wanting to bring out more of my personal items so my guests can actually see and appreciate them.  Here’s a list of what I’ve done so far:

– Swapped my blue couch with my green chair in the living room

– Purchased and built a DVD tower for the living room

– Moved my dresser (now empty of DVDs) upstairs to the guest room

– Carried my (empty) entertainment center up from the basement to the living room and started to decorate it with items like my scrapbooks, pictures, etc.

– Brought my papasan chair up from the basement and put in the corner of the living room

– Moved my recumbent bicycle to the far side of my living room

– Moved one of my side tables down to the basement

– Moved a small bookshelf down from the guest room to the hallway outside the kitchen and filled it with my cookbooks so I can actually access them (they were in a cabinet on top of my refrigerator before.

Organized Cookbooks

I’ve got a long way to go and still need to get new couches.  But it is progress and I already feel like I have more space and I can actually use my stuff.  Side note: Home Goods has greatly contributed to my new decorations, especially their colored glass section 🙂

After all this moving of furniture, I was hungry!  And, I’ve been wanting to try a few cookie recipes I saw on Pinterest.  For those of you that don’t know, this is essentially a website for women and is a live stream of images of craft projects, outfits, decorating ideas, etc. If you click on the image, it will take you to the directions, recipe, website where you can purchase, etc.  It’s awesome. So, I decided to make Cookies ‘n Cream Cookies and Peanut Butter Nutella Cookies.  Yum!

Cookies ‘n Cream Cookies

I made the Nutella dough first, very similar to regular peanut butter cookies but you fold Nutella (chocolate hazelnut spread) into the batter.  Then, while it was chilling in the refrigerator, I made the Cookies ‘n Cream dough.  This was a basic sugar cookie batter (but not a lot of it) and then crushed Oreos folded into the mix.  I LOVE Oreos, but even I felt like there was a high ratio of cookies to dough.  After baking both batches, I only allowed myself to eat one of each.  They were HEAVEN.  So delicious.  I really can’t say enough.  Both were fairly sweet, especially the Oreo ones, but worth it.

Peanut Butter Nutella Cookies

Obviously, I’m going to take the rest of the cookies to work tomorrow so I don’t eat them all and gain 10 pounds this week.  But I will absolutely eat another one of each before I let my co-workers enjoy them.  Especially if I am success with my morning venture… check back for more on that!

Leave a Reply

