Expedition: Possible

The title for this post comes from a new show on ABC, Expedition: Impossible.  It’s about groups of three trekking through Morocco on insane adventures.  It’s kind of like The Amazing Race, but is more physically challenging and in the wildness (versus more taxis and cities).  This season in particular was incredibly inspirational.  To see average people WAY out of their comfort zone and trying new things, that’s good television.

However, the single most impressive group was “No Limits” from Boulder, CO.  One of them was legally blind. Another has been his friend and his eyes for almost twenty years.  The final served in two tours of duty and two-thirds of the way through the season, broke his ankle.  Through all of those challenges, they just kept going.  They worked together, they communicated, they had a positive attitude, and they did what many people would have never even considered.  Truly inspiring.

Okay, sorry for the product placement there.  Back to my “expedition”.  At the end of March, during Spring Break, I set a goal for myself to start working out again.  I wanted to eat healthier, get more physically fit, and just start moving!  My ultimate goal was to go back to the healthy lifestyle I used to lead, but I also wanted to lose some weight.  My number goal was to lose 20 pounds by the start of this school year.

As you know from my school post, the kids come back tomorrow. And I’m happy to report that, as of this morning, I have lost 20.5 pounds!!  Cutting it a little close, I know, but with my recent IT injury, I haven’t been able to do a lot of cardio for the last two weeks.  Now it’s all about maintaining this weight as life gets hectic again.  I also want to work on actually cooking more here at home.  This summer it was a lot about grabbing food and going, which is fine, but expensive.  So that will be a new challenge for me and I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

