The All-American Steakhouse

Ashburn, VA (Broadlands Shopping Center off Claiborne Blvd.)

First, I want to say that this was not my first time to the Steakhouse, however this was my first time eating there since it has been “All-American” and not “Great” after a managing change.  Overall, it was a surprisingly yummy choice 🙂 Also, there have been several requests that I be more specific with the location of restaurants so I will do my best and I hope it helps!

As far as the food goes, I was pleasantly surprised with my meal.  We went because I had a BOGO coupon and wanted to be able to watch UVA Baseball while I ate last night.  Their rolls were a good start, smaller than the older version but still the same great taste.  And, they brought us six to start with, for just two of us!

I didn’t feel like steak (weird at a steakhouse, but we made steaks Thursday night for dinner at home) so I decided to go with mesquite-grilled shrimp skewers.  They were perfectly cooked and came with 15 big shrimp, so well worth it.  My boyfriend got the grilled chicken dinner w/ a parmesan pepper glaze.  The only complaint was that the glaze was really just sauce spread on top after the chicken had been cooked, so the flavor wasn’t infused in the meat.  But the meat was well cooked.

The sides were the other highlight for me.  Mainly because fresh fruit was an option, which I have to be honest, I haven’t seen at too many restaurants and I will choose all the time, every time.  It was a mix of mandarin orange slices, honeydew, cantaloupe, grapes, and pineapple… delicious!  Then I got mixed veggies as my other side, which were the typical brocoli, cauliflower, and carrots.  Eh, they were alright.

Last comment: while I know that you can smoke in the enclosed bar after 9:30pm, I was happy to see that the restaurant didn’t smell like smoke at all earlier than that.  We left before 9:30 to catch a movie, but at least I can eat there and not worry about a smoky smell lingering!

Leave a Reply

