Halfway there but just Beginning

Yesterday I got on the scale and was completely delighted to see that I have lost exactly half of the weight I’m hoping to lose by the start of next school year!  In ten weeks I have lost 10 pounds, which puts me back in the upper realm of “average weight” for my height.  For those of you that missed my Counting Calories post, I am trying to cut the weight I gained in the last year and just settle into a more consistent, healthier lifestyle.  For the past two and half months, I have been monitoring what I eat and trying not to eat too much at a time.  I haven’t really limited myself on foods, but am just trying to eat a little of the good stuff.  For the next half of this process, I’m going to actively try to add in food that give me more energy and are healthier in general.

I’ve also been getting in 30-60 minutes of physical activity probably six days a week, which has been awesome.  But now, I’m shifting into the second phase of my workout plan, which is mostly running based.  That’s because I did indeed sign up to run the Virginia Beach Rock ‘N Roll Half Marathon, which will take place over Labor Day weekend.  I have to admit, I’m not that excited 🙂  While I enjoy running… okay, let’s be honest: I just don’t like running.  It’s also going to be hot all summer and I have to run four days a week to keep up with my training schedule.  But, this is something on my bucket list and there will be bands lining the course, as well as my friend who just ran her first half marathon a few weeks ago who will be running “with me”… and by that I mean, we’ll start together and hopefully she’ll still be in the finishing area when I crawl across the line.  But it’s better than going at it totally alone!

So while you can see that I’ve made great progress, I know I still have a long way to go to reach my goals.  I’ll try to update you all on my progress this summer, hopefully without complaining too much.  Come September, I’ll be ready to go back to the days of swimming, using the elliptical, and biking instead of just running.

Leave a Reply

