Counting Calories… and Miles

So I’ve had a hectic year, or really nine months, since I completed my first sprint triathlon.  You’ve hopefully been reading all about it, but an unwanted side effect is that I’ve gained about 15 pounds since June 2010.  That’s just not healthy.  And I haven’t been very active either.  Other priorities have taken over, and I don’t regret that, I just need to focus on getting my health back under control.

The first thing I did was sign up for a free, online calorie counter at Everyday Health.  I chose this site because 1. it was free and 2. it allows me to enter food calories in and exercise calories out.  It also created my suggestions daily caloric intake based on my height, weight, age, and active level.  It doesn’t just to calories either, it will break the food down into proteins, sodium, fat, cholesterol, etc.  And for each day it tracks where I should be vs. where I am and I can see which areas I need to watch.  It’s awesome.

The second thing I’m doing is working out again.  My goal is to bike for 30 minutes each morning on my indoor bike in the basement.  Then I’ll try to run, swim, play Wii, or do yoga most afternoons.  We’ll see how that goes.  I’m working on it.  There’s also a vague plan to sign up for the Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon in VA Beach in September.  One of my co-workers is interested as well, so we may sign up for that.  That means a lot of running and a lot of running in the hot Virginia summer… so we’ll see.  I can always run early and go back to sleep to avoid the heat.

I’ll update my progress on both of these goals as I go, and please feel free to motivate me.  For now, I’ll tease you with the statement that at 8am tomorrow I will board a bus in DC with my mother, brother, sister-in-law, 5-month-old niece, aunt, and 15-year-old cousin… we’re going to NYC for the weekend.  Should be quite an adventure!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Halfway there but just Beginning « Rays of Funshine

Leave a Reply

