Fun in the Sun

I know it’s been too long since I’ve written, but I’ve been incredibly busy.  This is the first of probably 3-4 posts this week, so get excited!  I spent four days last week in sunny Tampa, Florida… well, really in Dunedin.  My boyfriend and I traveled down to visit his parents and just relax after a long winter.  He went down on Monday and I followed Wednesday after work.  We were very active while there and while we didn’t spend any time at the beach, we (I) got a lot of sun. 

Thursday was St. Patrick’s Day and we just explored the area with his parents.  Drove around the beach, had a light lunch, watched some college basketball, etc.  The highlight of this day was definitely dinner.  We went to an all-you-can-eat seafood place for dinner… AMAZING! I won’t do an official restaurant review because I don’t have time, but the scallops, salmon, shrimp, sushi, and crab were all so good.  As were the fried pita chips and cheesecake bars 🙂

Friday we went to the PGA Transitions Championship for most of the day.  I’d never been to a “real” golf tournament before so it was fun to explore.  The golfers really were impressive and it’s like a “choose your own adventure” because you can either watch one group for several holes or one hole for several groups.  I have to be honest and say that after 6-7 hours, I was tired.  But it was hot and we’d been standing/walking all day.  This is where most of my sun came from (oops!).  But I certainly learned a lot about professional golf and enjoyed the experience.  That night, I learned how to play shuffleboard!   You all should know by now that I love all games/activities the involved people and fun.  It took me a little while to get the technique down and I’m still working on the strategy, but by Saturday morning I was much improved.

Saturday, after an early game of shuffleboard, we headed into Tampa for the Yankees spring training game against the Toronto Blue Jays.  We had great seats (about 10 rows up from the third base line) and really got to see the pros up close and personal.  They were all having fun, playing a relaxed game and even chatting with the crowd.  As you recall, I went to a Yankees game up in New York in August but this was a whole different experience.  Less serious and more fun!   The only minor set-back was that it was a 1pm game and the sun was fierce.  But hey, you live and learn.

From the game we navigated through the Kenny Chesney concert traffic (why weren’t we staying?!) to the airport and flew home.  My arms and chest were on fire but the rest of my was chilled.  I’ve since gotten better, although I couldn’t convince my students that I’d been home sick… in a tanning bed… or something.  They were all jealous, so it worked out.  With Florida behind me, I’ve now got New York to look forward to as my extended family and I head up there this coming weekend!

Leave a Reply

