Worst Cook in America

After watching the Food Network show Worst Cooks in America (which was hilarious) and in an attempt to eat out less and eat healthier, my boyfriend and I have decided that each of us will cook once a week.  We can make whatever we want but, for myself at least, it should be something new.  Now, I am not going to critique or review what he has made in fairness to him (it’s all been better than mine!) but I will talk about the dishes I make as weeks go on.   Again, the point of this is to challenge myself to make dinner more and eat out less.  A nice side effect of which should be (sometimes only slightly) healthier food.  If you ever want a recipe, just let me know!

Attempt #1 – Crab Salad Croissants – This was essentially mixing together imitation crab, mustard, mayonnaise, celery, onion, salt, pepper, cheese, etc.  Then putting that in a croissant to make a sandwich.  I wanted something light for dinner that night, but different.  The flaw in my plan was that I don’t like mustard or mayonnaise and there was a lot of both.  I hated it.  My boyfriend liked it, especially the next night when he put the leftovers on a bagel which was a sturdier source of bread.  If I make it again, I’ll go a little easier on the mayo… and make something else for myself 🙂

Attempt #2 – Breakfast Burritos – I have to admit, this was kind of a cop-out choice.  It was super easy.  I just scrambled some eggs and toasted a tortilla then added chunks of chicken, bacon, and cheese.  Roll it up and we’re done!  No real problems this night and it tasted good.

Attempt #3 – Pepperjack BBQ Chicken – This recipe called for cutting a pocket in a chicken breast, stuffing it with pepperjack cheese, then coating the chicken in BBQ sauce.  I opted for a sweet BBQ sauce that I hoped would compliment the zest in the cheese.  The recipe gave me the option of grilling on the stove top or baking in the oven.  Next time I will absolutely bake it.  The issue with grilling it was cooking the chicken all the way through while preventing the cheese from oozing out and the sauce from sticking to the pan.  A noticeable problem was that my old pan is no longer really “non-stick” to the point that I threw it out after cooking.  I liked the flavors though and will definitely attempt this again, just in the oven.

Leave a Reply

