Thanksgiving: Canada Edition

This year, Mom and I decided to venture north for Thanksgiving since we had a week off school.  It also helped that my brother and sister-in-law just had their first child, my first niece, and my mother’s first grandchild.  After an adventurous 21 hours of flying, waiting, and flying some more we arrived!  My mother spent most of the week like this:

The high each day was in the teens, so needless to say, we didn’t spend a lot of time outside.  We did have a constant source of entertainment in watching my niece, Rachel.  She’s a really happy, alert baby most of the time and loves to smile for the camera.

One day, Brother drove Mom and I around his town, Penticton B.C., and we did a quite “hike” to get up above the town.  They are situated between two large lakes that make it a beach town in the summer months.

We celebrated Thanksgiving on Wednesday, because it fit better into their work schedules.  Instead of turkey, we had chicken and ham, which is better by my book anyway.  We also had sweet potatoes covered in marshmallows, green bean casserole, cornbread, stuffing, salad, mashed potatoes, and chocolate cake for dessert!  Several other families came over and we had a great time.  Since Wednesday nights are typically my trivia nights, I created a bunch of trivia questions and we all learned a little bit more about this American holiday.

Later in the week, our family piled into the car and headed up the hill to go cross-country skiing.  My brother and sister-in-law frequent this nordic center, but I had never been cross-country skiing.  After some awkwardness at the beginning while I adjusted to the skis, boots, and technique, I think I managed okay!  This is definitely not a “fun” sport though, it is a workout and certainly gets your heart-rate up… or maybe I’m just that out of shape 🙂

I should’ve mentioned that Mom stayed in the warming hut with Rachel while the rest of us took turns skiing around.  The next day, Mom and I got up early and started the long trek home.  Although, it only took us about 11 hours on the return trip.  Then we both slept most of the rest of the weekend.  All-in-all, it was a wonderful trip and gave us a nice chance to visit family during the holidays.  I’ll leave you with my favorite picture of Rachel, because it looks like she’s exploring and trying to figure out what the camera is and how it works… she’s smart already!

Leave a Reply

