I Have Impressive Friends

It is very easy to get caught up in your own life, especially when you have a lot going on like I always seem to.  But I’ve realized recently that I need to remember what’s going on outside my life as well.  My friends and acquaintances are impressive people and are doing some fairly fantastic things.  Here are just a few examples:

– a high school friend is working working with HIV-victims in Argentina

– an ed school friend is volunteer teaching in the Congo

– a college friend has her own cake business on the side of her “real job”

– another college friend has extended their Teach for America term for another two year

– high school friend is preparing to head out to the Middle East as a helicopter pilot for the Marines

Those are just a very few of the many impressive things people I know are doing.  And they’ve gotten me thinking, what do I do that is impressive?  Sure, I teach… but in a fairly well-off high school in the suburbs.  So I’m beginning a quest to figure out what else I can do to give back or make someone else’s life better.  I’ve done tons of volunteering in my life, but have no current projects.  This summer I’m staying in the country for the first time in a while, so that should give me some extra time to do some good.  If you have suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

