We’re Halfway There!

Last Sunday marked the halfway point of my triathlon training.  Here are the top three things I have learned in the past 2.5 months:

1. I need to work on my neck and deltoids muscles.  From swimming to biking to running, that’s what gets the most sore when I workout.  Especially when I try to breathe to the left.

2. Biking outside is infinitely better than biking inside. Even in cold, kind of crappy weather.

3. I need new music on my ipod shuffle, I hear the same stuff over and over again.  It has gotten old.

In other news, I went to see a nutritionist a few weeks ago to talk about keeping my energy up during the day and what foods were best to eat before and after meals.  She gave me a ton of helpful suggestions that I’m trying.  It means more vegetables and more protein in the morning, but other than that I don’t have to change a lot (which makes me feel good about what I’ve been eating!).  The goal is to have the energy to work out and balance out what I eat when.  The nice side effect should be losing a few pounds.  I figured with all the exercise I’m doing, I might as well.

School is great, slowing down in terms of work I have to do at home.  My kids are preparing for their AP and SOL tests, which means tons and tons of review.  They are starting to get nervous (which is a good thing!).  I’m also selling tickets for spring sporting events at school, which puts some extra cash in my pocket and is kind of fun too!  That’s all for now, I leave for San Antonio after work on Friday so I’ll post about that trip when I get back.  Have a great week everyone!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dad
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 18:00:22

    if those are your muscles on top of your your shoulders, I noticed they were bigger. You can use the songs on my ipod for diversity.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

