Busy, Busy Bee

Tonight I promised myself I would come home and get right to work grading my student’s research papers.  The assignment was supposed to be 5-10 pages in length. I have 92 students. I’d do the math, but it would just depress me more.  So instead, I’m writing this post!

My life has been very busy this January, which is how I like it, especially when it’s the good kind of busy.  I’ve discovered lately that the more items I have on my agenda, the faster I get them all done.  If I only have one or two things to do, it could drag on for hours, even days.  But if my list is a page long, not including things like eating or sleeping, I knock them out a lot faster.  I get so much satisfaction from making a list.  I have tunnel vision and obsess over completing a task just so I can cross it off my list.  If my list gets too distracting with all the crossed out items, I make a new, more succinct list.

A side effect of a busy life is that I expect everyone around me to be busy as well.  This applies to my students, coworkers, friends, and other drivers on the road.  Busy people have places to go, people to see… so get out of my way.  With exams coming up next week, my students could not frustrate me more than by telling me they “don’t have anything to do”.  That’s clearly a lie.  You and I both know you have seven exams in less than a week.  Even if you “don’t study” you could at least read through material or I’m sure you have a review packet to complete for a homework grade or extra credit (which, by the way, I think is hogwash).

You know what I just realized?  No matter how busy or productive I’m being, cleaning my house never seems to make its way on to my list.  I’ll leave that for a lazy day when I have free time…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meggan and Jason Oliver
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 00:34:45

    We love you!
    Your post is awesome.

    Like

    Reply

  2. momma v
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 11:40:12

    you are amazing…..keep it up…and why would you not think that your students have nothing to do…that is all I heard all week as well…..it is crazy to me.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

