Here goes nothing…

Well, after almost two years of saying that I’d like to complete a sprint triathlon I am finally taking the steps towards achieving that goal.  This week I officially registered for the Charlottesville Sprint Triathlon on Sunday, June 27th.  It consists of a 0.3 mile (lake) swim, a 16 mile bike ride, and a 3.1 mile (5K) trail run.  I have to admit that I am most nervous about the swim, because there will be no bottom of the pool for me to rely on.    If I make it out of the water, I should be fine.

In order to get myself in shape and make sure that I don’t drown, I have researched training schedules or programs online for sprint triathlons.  After a lot of looking, I think I’ve found one that will work for me.  It is a 20-week program, which for me will start on February 8th.  I’ll do workouts five days a week, with seven total workouts.  Monday and Wednesday I’ll do two different disciplines while Tuesday and Saturday will be rest days.  My total training time each week will be between 3 and 6 hours, which I should be able to fit in with no problem.

My logic for doing this now, at the beginning of the year, is because I finish school June 23rd so I can train and compete before summer starts.  That way my training won’t interfere with my travel plans (and I’ll be in shape for the beach).  Also, I finish coaching gymnastics February 20th so I will start to have a lot more free time to allow myself to properly train.  Finally, as my workouts get longer and more intense, the weather will continue to improve so I can do most of my training outside, but before it gets too hot in the summer months.

Anyway, I’m telling all of you about this because I figure the more people know, the more pressure I’ll have to stick with the program and actually compete.  Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated, especially when it comes to what to wear the day of or what specific equipment I should invest in.  Thanks so much in advance for any support you can give and best of luck to me!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claire O.
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 15:37:10

    Oh, I have toooons of comments about staying in shape. I would definitely look to me for fitness advice in the coming months 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. momma v
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 06:49:55

    we will help you with the running part..:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

