Make New Friends, But Keep the Old

This weekend I was fortunate enough to begin the celebration of my upcoming birthday.  Because it was Thanksgiving weekend, a variety of friends were around town and stopped by to help me celebrate.  It was amazing to see everyone all together and having fun, but it made me realize a lot of things about the people I care about the most, my friends.

First, I had a group of friends who I’ve known for years that I cherish because they have been through a lot with me and we grew up together.  They know the stupid things I did in my teenage years and were around throughout college.  However, the majority of this group doesn’t live in the area anymore and as a result, I only see a handful of times a year when they come home to visit their families.   This means they don’t know what goes on in my life on a daily basis and they assume I’m the same person they’ve always known.

The next group, were the friends I now hang out with all the time here and I have just met or reconnected with in the last nine months or so.  They are the group I call during the week to hang out and we have our established weekend routines.  They may not know my life story, but they know what’s going on in the here and now.

It was so interesting to see these two groups meet and to have the chance to observe how they interacted with one another and how they interacted with me.  It made me realize that there are some people I will care about no matter how little they really know about me now, because they remind me of my past and where I came from.  I also observed how quickly I have come to care about some of my new friends and how I honestly appreciate them for who they are and who they let me be.

Bottom-line: After looking at all my friends, I realized that I depend on them for different reasons at different times and that’s fine.  I also know that I would not be who I am today without any of my friends and for that I just want to say… thanks!

Leave a Reply

